Jacques’ Onion Soup

Jacques Pepin’s Instagram channel has been active throughout the pandemic, with a mix of cooking lessons from past and present. I love his simple recipes that tease so much flavour out of so few ingredients.

I’m not even a fan of onion soup, but wanted to try his Onion Soup Lyonnaise to see how he would spin it. Geez. Once I tried the first few spoonfuls, I was in Get-in-My-Belly mode despite the soup being incredibly hot.

Toasted bread is added to the bottom of the bowl and gets bloated from the soup. Surprisingly, this bread is the best part. What the Brits would call moreish. I added another slice of toast on top for a crispier texture. The Gruyère cheese is rather mild but provides a nice counterpoint to the sweet onions. Magical.

Published by The Quarantine Epicure

I live in beautiful Vancouver with A, a gameful gastronaut, and two adorable cats. A day job keeps me busy but working from home during the lockdown gives me more time to cook meals.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started