Platinum Jubilee

Living in a commonwealth country, it was hard to miss all the news of our Queen’s platinum jubilee, marking an amazing 70 years in service. Britons got to enjoy a four-day bank holiday, celebrate with cutely intimate street parties, and watch the royal family parade around in ceremonial pomp and pageantry.

I couldn’t resist the opportunity to try some of BBC Food’s jubilee recipes. First up was Platinum Jubilee Chicken, which features cold chicken in a curry-spiced mayo along with apples, walnuts, and pomegranate seeds. The recipe is an update of Coronation Chicken, which was devised in 1953 to celebrate the Queen’s ascent to the throne. Jubilee Chicken was easy to make and delicious. Next time, I would amp up the spices but hold back on the pomegranate seeds, which was a lot of fibre.

Next up was Mary’s Royal Cherry Trifle. As you know, I love Mary Berry from the Great British Bakeoff. This recipe took the better part of three hours to complete, mostly to let the elements chill properly. I made the custard from scratch but overcooked it and had to recover the thickened mass by beating in lots of whipped cream. Made some gains.

Here’s to the Queen reaching her 75th year in power, which I believe will be called the Infinity Stone Jubilee.

Published by The Quarantine Epicure

I live in beautiful Vancouver with A, a gameful gastronaut, and two adorable cats. A day job keeps me busy but working from home during the lockdown gives me more time to cook meals.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started