Curry beef brisket

Curry beef brisket is one of A’s favourites whenever we go to Hong Kong diners. The meat is so tender, the sauce well-rounded, and the heat a low burn.

I kept telling him that it’d be easy to make ourselves so I ate my words, tried making it myself using this recipe:

https://auntieemily.com/hong-kong-curry-beef-brisket/

The recipe is fairly complex, with a prep time of 30 minutes and total cooking time of almost 3 hours. But it’s worth the time investment to develop the flavour profile and melting meat texture. After an hour, the brisket still had fibry chew. After two hours, it was largely tender.

Near the end of the cooking, I threw in some marrow squash, whose seed bed fabulously soaks up sauces for a sloppily juicy bite.

Unfortunately, I had only the final dregs of a curry powder that was likely several years old so the final product lacked the punchy heat expected but still had a full-bodied flavour profile that was indeed satisfying.

A: “Why don’t we kidnap the Chef from <our favourite Hong Kong diner> so he can make it for us?” ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Published by The Quarantine Epicure

I live in beautiful Vancouver with A, a gameful gastronaut, and two adorable cats. A day job keeps me busy but working from home during the lockdown gives me more time to cook meals.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started